Kalachakra Mantra- Meaning and Significance

What is Kalachakra Mantra?

The name kalachakra implies cycles of time, and the Kalachakra method shows 3 such cycles: internal, external and alternate.

The internal and external cycles are concerned with time as we know it, whereas the alternative cycles are practices for breaking free from these internal and external cycles.

It's also known as the "Tenfold Powerful One." It is so named because it is made up of ten different components. This ancient sacred sign consists of a seven-syllable mantra encircled by a ring of fire. Three more symbols are located above, to the right, and to the left of this powerful phrase, for a total of ten components in the design.

The various components of the symbol are linked together to produce a complex design. Furthermore, the Sanskrit name Kalachakra means "time wheel."
This ancient sign essentially symbolizes the whole 2,500-year-old Kalachakra tantra, which is recited to purify the mind and body. The cycle of our own breath, the cycles of the planets, and the numerous cycles in our bodies and lives are all part of this strong and effective tantra.

Kalchakra Mantra Meaning


The Kalachakra Mantra's meaning is as follows: The first portion of the mantra, "Om Ah Hum Hoh," represents speech, body, mind, and knowledge. In one's quest for enlightenment, these four sacred words are said to be able to purify the body and mind.

Ham (blue) represents the deities' enlightened wisdom; Kshah (green) represents their speech, body, and mind; Ma (red) represents the mandala palace; La (yellow) represents the element of earth; Wa (white) represents the element of water; Ra (red) represents the element of fire; Ya (black) represents the element of air.

Understanding Kalchakra

Kalachakra is a four-faced, black-skinned deity with twenty-four limbs and twelve faces. He is the personification of time, which is reflected in his name. The Sanskrit words "kala" and "chakra" imply "time" and "cycle," respectively.

When we talk about Kalachakra, we might be talking about the god, the mandala dedicated to him, or the set of teachings linked with him. The teachings, known as Kalachakra Tantra, are regarded to be among Tibetan Buddhism's most advanced and complicated. The Dalai Lama has openly declared them to be especially essential for this degraded generation in recent years. The Kalachakra teachings, according to His Holiness, can aid in the promotion of world peace.

Significance of Kalchakra Mantra

Original Genuine Hand Painted Tibetan Mantra Om Compassion Kalachakra |  ISHKA

Kalachakra tantra is a tantra that is recited to cleanse the body and psyche. The planets' cycles, our own breath cycles, and the many cycles in our bodies and lives all play a role in this tantra. There is also a distinction between the tantra's "inner" and "outer" parts. The inner part refers to a person's interior workings, such as their chakras. The outer section, of course, is concerned with exterior matters. The mind-body interaction can be compared to the relationship between the inner and outside areas. The first two chapters of the Kalachakra tantra deal with the outside domain, while the remaining three deal with the interior realm.

Symbol Of Kalchakra

Mandala is a graphic and often symbolic pattern usually in the form of a circle divided into four separate sections or bearing multiple projections of an image. The mandala has reappeared in cultures and traditions throughout history, and the design and pattern it takes are often informed by the intended meaning of the piece.
There are a number of traditional symbols used in mandala art that hail from Buddhist and Hindu imagery but many modern forms of mandala have begun incorporating modern takes on traditional symbols.
The Kalachakra, or wheel of time, is symbolized by the kalachakra seed syllable, which is a complicated Buddhist emblem. The seven interwoven letters (written in Lantsa, a Buddhist form of Sanskrit used for mantras and holy writings) stand for the seven words of the kalachakra mantra: "Ham Ksha Ma La Va Ra Ya." The 10 elements that give the symbol its name are the seven letters, the crescent and full moons, and the nada (wisp).
This sign may be found in various forms almost anywhere where Tibetan Buddhism is practiced. It reflects the Kalachakra tantra's teachings, one of the most complicated tantric systems.
The symbolism underlying this logo is extensive, with interpretations alluding to the outside world, the human body on gross and subtle levels, and the practice of Kalachakra.
Interested in Kaalchakra symbol? Find our apparels and kalchakra printed mugs, canvas, stickers and phone cases. Follow this link 


Older Post Newer Post